Ethical Practices in Yoga - Anand Gupta - E-Book

Ethical Practices in Yoga E-Book

Anand Gupta

13,99 €


Anyone who has practiced Yoga has felt the joy and peace that can come from the discipline, yet as any passionate Yoga Instructor will tell you, the yoga is not complete without the spiritual and ethical disciplines to guide you. Anand Gupta brings the mind and the focus to this concept in this 4th volume in the expansive "School of Yoga" collection, based on the Ashtanga Yoga, also known as the Eight-Limbed or Raja Yoga, based on the Yogastura as codified by Patanjali around 400 C.E. Unveiling the first two limbs known as the Yamas, or what not to do, and the Niyamas, or what is to be done, in the Yogasutra, Anand Gupta explains how the Yogi must incorporate these deep disciplines in their daily lives. The five Yamas listed and defined in this book offer a set of activities that must be avoided by the Yogi while the Niyamas are a set of observances that promote self-discipline and improve will power. Together these help in bringing the Yogi closer to the goal of Yoga: unity of the body and mind.

Das E-Book können Sie in Legimi-Apps oder einer beliebigen App lesen, die das folgende Format unterstützen:


Seitenzahl: 27



By using this book, you accept this disclaimer in full.

No advice

The book contains information. The information is not advice and should not be treated as such.

No representations or warranties

To the maximum extent permitted by applicable law and subject to section below, we exclude all representations, warranties, undertakings and guarantees relating to the book.

Without prejudice to the generality of the foregoing paragraph, we do not represent, warrant, undertake or guarantee:

that the information in the book is correct, accurate, complete or non-misleading.

that the use of the guidance in the book will lead to any particular outcome or result.

Limitations and exclusions of liability

The limitations and exclusions of liability set out in this section and elsewhere in this disclaimer: are subject to section 6 below; and govern all liabilities arising under the disclaimer or in relation to the book, including liabilities arising in contract, in tort (including negligence) and for breach of statutory duty.

We will not be liable to you in respect of any losses arising out of any event or events beyond our reasonable control.

We will not be liable to you in respect of any business losses, including without limitation loss of or damage to profits, income, revenue, use, production, anticipated savings, business, contracts, commercial opportunities or goodwill.

We will not be liable to you in respect of any loss or corruption of any data, database or software.

We will not be liable to you in respect of any special, indirect or consequential loss or damage.


Nothing in this disclaimer shall: limit or exclude our liability for death or personal injury resulting from negligence; limit or exclude our liability for fraud or fraudulent misrepresentation; limit any of our liabilities in any way that is not permitted under applicable law; or exclude any of our liabilities that may not be excluded under applicable law.


If a section of this disclaimer is determined by any court or other competent authority to be unlawful and/or unenforceable, the other sections of this disclaimer continue in effect.

If any unlawful and/or unenforceable section would be lawful or enforceable if part of it were deleted, that part will be deemed to be deleted, and the rest of the section will continue in effect.

Law and jurisdiction

This disclaimer will be governed by and construed in accordance with Swiss law, and any disputes relating to this disclaimer will be subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the courts of Switzerland.



Chapter 1: What is Ashtanga Yoga?

Yama and Niyama

Chapter 2: The Rules of Yama

Ahimsa or Non-violence

Satya or Truthfulness

Asteya or Non-stealing

Brahmacharya or Self-control

Aparigraha or Lacking the wish to hoard

Chapter 3: The Rules of Niyama

Shaucha or Purification

Santosha or Contentment

Tapas or Asceticism

Svadhyaya or Self-study

Ishvara pranidhana or Surrendering to one’s destiny

Chapter 4: Importance of Yama and Niyama